Pointless???

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CodyWayne718

Feeling the Heat
Dec 11, 2009
Kentucky
I'd like to start by sayin hello from a newbie! Seems like a lot of info to take in here....I was just wondering if it is pointless to purchase a wood burning fireplace insert unless it is installed by a pro? Read somewhere that if it werent installed by a pro then it wouldnt heat anything, jus wonderin what you all thought and if it would be alright to do yourself.....I am not a pro when it comes to stoves by NO means and not tryin to sound big headed but it doesnt seem like it would be that hard, am i wrong?? Thanks for any kind of input or advice

You are looking at inserts, so you have a fireplace already?

They are not that hard to install, getting the liner down and connected to the insert is the hardest part.

A lot of people would have a pro do it just for the peace of mind that its done right, unfortunately not all "pros" do it right. Also seems the more south you go, the harder it is to find someone who knows anything about fireplaces.s

If you're handy, willing to learn, and careful, you can do it yourself. People here will help you with advice.

In fact, if you do it yourself, you can make sure it gets done the right way. Hiring someone else to do it, even a pro, is no guarantee you'll get it done properly. There are folks on this site that know far, far more, most likely, than any of your local pros.