Possible Small Chimney Fire - Need advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
@bholler , @begreen , is not 1000 degrees F flue gas temp pushing the upper limit of safety, even with modern pipe?

I have been fooling with this problem for coming up on seven years now.

https://www.hearth.com/talk/threads/regulated-burners-cold-start-tips.140279/

I have no reason to think my draft is unusually weak or strong. With house guests that needed to remain fully clothed I was able to get a 36 hour burn out of my A30.0 with outdoor ambients in the +20 to +30 dF range. It remains my personal long burn record with an active cat, but the house was not warm enough (given the fully clothed guests staying over) for my wife to be in the wardrobe I desire. At -30dF and colder I can burn down a box full of spruce in 4 hours. Everyone here will have better/ stronger draft at -30 dF than they do at +30dF. I conclude my draft is average/ typical and have intentionally not commented on any of the damper conversations I can recall.

The EPA reg requiring regulated burners to get from cold iron to clean plume in 20 minutes should not be on the books because it is not safely attainable by average burners using average fuel in average installs. I don't know any above average burners with above average fuel that can do it, not one. Period. See you in court.