Propane/firewood

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

lmholmes11

Jul 27, 2014
Northern Michigan
I have a wood boiler and currently buying my wood until i get woods of my own. Im curious as to who has a 'formula' or a way to figure out at what point the price of propane has to be, in which it would be even with what I'm paying for Firewood...needless to say I'm not good with math! A good family friend of ours is a big oil/gas guy and said in our area propane prices are going to continue to drop. Thanks guys!

Not sure if this will help, but for me it's not about the money. To be a woodburner, you have to like it. It oil went back to .25/gal, I'd still be burning wood. If I have to give it up someday because of age or health, it will hurt me something awful.

Check out this calculator, should give you the info. you are looking for. http://nepacrossroads.com/fuel-comparison-calculator.php

Looks like I was pretty much dead on with my calc I posted -HERE- stating:
From a strictly monetary standpoint if you have to purchase wood. At $1 a gallon of LP, $210 per cord of Red Oak, 92% LP furnace efficiency and 80% wood furnace efficiency....it would theoretically cost the same to heat with wood vs LP.

So, in my case where LP is currently $1 a gallon and I don't have to purchase wood, I could heat with LP and come out making ~$140 every cord net after paying the LP bill if I sold it for $350/cord.

Now if your are paying $2 per gallon for LP, then you'd have to get $420 per cord to break even.