Putting a humidifier on top of the stove - dangers?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

ksks

Oct 16, 2016
SW MO
I'm new to full-time wood burning and want to put a humidifier on top of the insert's shelf.

There is a wooden old barn rafter mantle above, and 8 foot popcorn ceilings.

Will the steam hurt these areas, or soften the popcorn?

Thanks,

ks

You may get less steam than you are thinking, and most of those steamers are not very big. If the steamer is meant to address humidity issues in the house, consider either an electric humidifier for the stove room, or an outside air kit for the stove.

In a more direct answer, the steam won't hurt the popcorn ceiling (because the airflow in that room is significant, because the stove is sucking air out of it). I wouldn't worry about a wooden mantel either as long as it is painted or clearcoated.

I've removed some popcorn ceilings that were impervious to steam altogether. I think one of 'em was stucco. ;sick Next time I have to do that job, I am just taking the drywall down and replacing it.

You may get less steam than you are thinking, and most of those steamers are not very big. If the steamer is meant to address humidity issues in the house, consider either an electric humidifier for the stove room, or an outside air kit for the stove.

In a more direct answer, the steam won't hurt the popcorn ceiling (because the airflow in that room is significant, because the stove is sucking air out of it). I wouldn't worry about a wooden mantel either as long as it is painted or clearcoated.