questions about first sweep...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

red450

Oct 27, 2009
Indiana
(Disclaimer: I've only been burning wood for a month, so I'm a complete noob.)

We had some low fires due to crappy wood the first week or so of burning. Since I have the new burner paranoia about creosote, I'd like give the ss chimney a checkup sweep. My stove has a heavy baffle above the secondary airtubes. Am I correct in assuming that I need to take the baffle out in order to sweep the chimney properly? I did some basic searches on the site about sweeping but didn't really find an answer. Which way works best, top to bottom or bottom to top? (straight shot from the stove up through the roof) My roof pitch is pretty mild, so I don't mind getting out the ladder.

If it's easy to get to, go top down. Close up the stove and brush down from the top. Most of what you need to check on is at the top anyway, so may as well go there.

’berta Burner said:
If it's easy to get to, go top down. Close up the stove and brush down from the top. Most of what you need to check on is at the top anyway, so may as well go there.

Should I pull the air tubes and baffle, so I can collect the schmutz?