Quietest pellet stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Warrigal

Jun 20, 2018
Tehachapi, CA
I'm new to the world of pellet stoves, thank you in advance for all the collective wisdom you have contributed to the forum - I've been soaking it in! But I am soliciting opinions and experiences for my situation:

Setting: We recently bought a 1 bedroom 875sf fixer-upper cabin in the Tehachapi mountains in Southern California and it was in the 40s this past weekend (mid-June!) so the time is right to shop for my heat source! The cabin is decently insulated, has an open floor plan, and previously had a wood stove centrally located in the living area that was removed before the sale, so there is a chimney venting through the roof. Propane is expensive (natural gas not available), so pellets are what most people do. However, I'm not 100% committed to pellets over propane yet... We will occupy the cabin ~75% of the time (my husband commutes from there during the week, and we'll spend half our weekends up there).

In reality, the climate is not too harsh - it's a pretty dry, high desert/mountain climate at 5600' and will snow a few times a year (without sticking much), and it gets windy. Winter lows in the 20s-30s, winter highs in the 40s-50s. But I'm a wimp who left Massachusetts 20+ years ago to come to LA and love the heat, so I don't tolerate cold well. This will be the only source of heat for our 875sf place.

Priorities: