raking hot coals question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

agz124

Jul 16, 2007
This is my first year as a wood-burner and things are going well but....

My quad 4300 filled up with hot coal to the point that I could only get 2 small splits in last night before bed. Needless to say they did not last very long and I woke up to a 59F living room (stove location). Here are my thoughts: My wife stays home during the day and puts a log or 2 on every hour or so, the coals never turn completely into ash and therefore take up a lot of room. I did a search on raking coals and came across a video from Canada about how to operate a woodstove and I learned a few things. Now I am going to try not adding any wood until all the coals have burned down significantly. Here is the question: Once I have nothing but a few hot coals (1" or less in size) should I rake them to the front (north south stove)? I never did any raking before and when I would load up at bedtime the stove would take off (too much)! Like 700-750F stove temp even with the air closed almost all the way. If I rake all the coals to one location, the entire bottom surface of the new wood will NOT suddenly catch fire because only a little bit of it will be touching the coals as opposed to my old method of just tossing it on top of all the coals. So, if this makes any sense to anyone please feel free throw some raking advice my way. Oh yeah, if I do rake all the coals to the front then my new splits will be inclined and I will not be able to get as much in the stove...?

Thanks

agz124 said: