Running Chimney Pipe Through Corrugated Metal Roof??

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

dfoxhoven

Dec 22, 2020
Elizabethtown, Pa
Newbie here...I'm going to be installing a Wood Stove in my workshop. It's a detached garage and I'm insulating with 1" Insulation Panels the rafters in the garage, so the attic will be uninsulated. The roof is Metal Corrugated and I have a couple of questions. I know I can run Stove Pipe up to the insulation, but then I need to do double-wall through the insulation and up through the attic, do I have to do triple wall out of the roof or can I do double-wall? It's Selkirk double-wall I have, and just wondering if I have to buy Selkirk triple-wall to finish outisde? My second question is how do I seal around the chimey on the outside because the roof is corrugated? Thanks all in advance for any insight!!

Newbie here...I'm going to be installing a Wood Stove in my workshop. It's a detached garage and I'm insulating with 1" Insulation Panels the rafters in the garage, so the attic will be uninsulated. The roof is Metal Corrugated and I have a couple of questions. I know I can run Stove Pipe up to the insulation, but then I need to do double-wall through the insulation and up through the attic, do I have to do triple wall out of the roof or can I do double-wall? It's Selkirk double-wall I have, and just wondering if I have to buy Selkirk triple-wall to finish outisde? My second question is how do I seal around the chimey on the outside because the roof is corrugated? Thanks all in advance for any insight!!