Scared of getting too many BTU’s

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

MN Mike

Feb 11, 2018
Twin Cities
Hello All,

Mike here and I’m a newbie to this forum, but I’ve been searching a bunch on here today. I live in the Twin Cities of Minnesota, but was born in Wisconsin and am an avid Packer fan, but that’s beside the point. I’m a mechanical engineer and I love the idea of wood as an secondary heat source. I am starting to get quotes for a wood insert for a masonry fireplace which currently only has a screen and no glass. It has large river rock in the facade, and should work to soak up heat well. My family has land in Wisconsin that I can utilize for wood supply, and I just bought a Stihl MS 271 with 18” bar. I think I’ve finally got blessing from my wife to use some “found money” from childhood savings bonds. I currently am burning oak in an open fireplace from last year that is stacked and split under a roof with vented sides.