SEALING PIPE JOINTS

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JotulOwner

Feeling the Heat
Hearth Supporter
Oct 29, 2007
Long Island, New York
I have a Jotul stove with Metalbestos chimney system. I am no expert (only burning 2 years), but I noticed that the double wall stove pipe from the stove to the thimball has a large gap at the stove connection ( I think it is also connected in the wrong direction - male end facing up). There are also leaks at the joints leading to the thimball. I have heard that none of this matters if your system is built correctly, but I filled the larger gap with rope gasket last season and I swear it improved the draft. I remember buying wood from a guy who has burned wood for more that 30 years and I noticed he sealed his pipe joints. I didn't think to ask why at the time, but now I wonder if I should have.

I imagine that, if your stove air intake is restricted when you shut it down and the heat is high in the pipe and stove, cool air will be drawn in through the pipe connections that are not air tight. I'm not sure if I am correct.

Any opinions regarding this would be appreciated.

Thanks
Art

leaks do matter. they dilute draft. can you post some photos please? Imagine sucking a nice mixed drink through a straw that has small holes poked in it.

Double wall interior pipe is hard to install wrong. Gaps are almost impossible. You cant connect double wall pipe to a stove backwards very easy.