Seasoning Time of Firewood from Dead Oak Trees?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

chemie

Feeling the Heat
Aug 11, 2018
New York City
Hi All,
I’m brand new to using a wood stove and have very little experience of using fireplace from last year .So please excuse my question(s) if they are so obvious. We got BK Ashford 25 fireplace insert installed 2 weeks ago. Haven’t started using it yet because of warm weather.

I live in NYC and have limited backyard to store firewood. I can store about 1 cord of wood in my backyard and 1 cord in my sweet old lady neighbor’s backyard. I have been hunting firewood on Craigslist and was able to to find about 2 cords of seasoned firewood mostly oak, some maple, cherry, and pine. All below 20 % MC. I have a bit more space left to store firewood. I live about 300 ft away from a NYC forest that has a lot of dead oak trees from previous storms. I called and asked to the park department that if I can cut wood from fallen trees and received a positive response.