Secondary Burn Vid

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

pen

There are some who call me...mod.
Staff member
Aug 2, 2007
N.E. Penna
For those wondering what a secondary burn is watch this video. At about 20 seconds I'll close the draft up some and you'll see the "northern lights" go to work.

If this were a traditional stove (like my old fisher) having the drafts turned down, these wood gasses would have been sent up the chimney.

PLEASE turn the volume down! I'm a video newbie and apparently breath loudly ;-P

i love watching secondary burns ,looks like natural gas...very calming to me , it never gets old

Wait till it goes thermo-nuclear.

Attachments

• nc-30kickin.JPG
    nc-30kickin.JPG
    21.1 KB · Views: 681
I take it you haven't put it in the garage and dragged the Fisher back in yet? :cheese:

BrotherBart said:
I take it you haven't put it in the garage and dragged the Fisher back in yet? :cheese:

I'm sold! But with a few windows still open in the house tonight the Mrs. came down stairs and informed me she wasn't too pleased with the new stove because of a smoke smell upstairs.

I sure as hell hope the smell is from the open windows. My lady friend is one easy going woman 99% of the time. Smelling like smoke is one of the very few complaints she's ever had. I just hope it's a result of the early burn as when the stove door is opened, no visible or smellable smoke enters the room.

pen

pen said:
BrotherBart said: