Size of insert...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

stacylu

Hearth Supporter
Aug 13, 2007
I'm a newbie trying to decide on what size of gas insert we need for our fireplace. I think we've decided on a Regency but are not sure about which size - medium or large for our house and room

(Medium) U32 - Direct Vent, 30,000 BTU with turn down to 15,000

(Large) U35 - Direct Vent, 35,000 BTU with turn down to 17,500

We have a 15,000 sq ft Ranch style house, one level and the fireplace faces the hallway towards where the bedrooms are. Both will fit our existing fireplace space so that's not a concern. The living room that it will be in is about 17 x 14'

Thanks in advance for any guidance!

Stacy

I was getting ready to say, if you can afford house that big, then you shouldn't complain about how much it costs to heat. lol

Yeah - it's not that big... I would have somebody to make these decisions if that was true, especially in our area.

I'm not really that concerned with the $ difference between the two inserts, more with cooking us out of the room.

I also read somewhere about when an insert is turned down that it creates more creosote and more mess.... any other downsides? I assume this is mostly a housekeeping kind of thing but maybe it affects efficiency too? Like I said, I'm a newbie.

Thanks in advance

Creosote is by product of wood burning, or improper wood burning. It's not an issuse with natural gas. I have natural gas furnace and the vent pipe on it hasn't been cleaned in 45 years.