Small home, soapstone advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy197

Oct 3, 2016
Homer, AK
Hi,

I am new to wood burning. I am building a new timberframe cabin near Homer, AK at elevation 1,100 feet - normal winter temperatures are in the 20's, can get down to single digits on some nights, also can get very windy. New cabin is well-insulated, but big south-facing (double pane) windows. Two story, garage underneath, living space on top, cathedral ceiling, 24 x 24 feet - about 600 square feet on each floor. Foundation is slab on grade, insulated below slab. Will have supplemental oil heater (direct vent Laser 56) downstairs in garage to heat that space and so I can have heat when I'm not in town or in shoulder season (will open door to downstairs). I would like to install a wood stove as the primary heat upstairs. I would also like to be able to sit in front of the fire in the evenings and see the flames. Local stove dealer suggested a Hearthstone Tribute (1.2 cu ft firebox, 16" max log length). Main wood around here is sitka spruce which I know isn't the highest quality, but that's what is here. I will use well-seasoned (dry) wood. I am concerned that the Tribute stove is so tiny that I will be constantly need to be adding wood, and 16" logs are not the standard size up here, so if I purchase firewood I'll have to be cutting everything (plan to cut and split most of my own, but still....)