Smokeback

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

akarusso

Oct 27, 2022
Long Island NY
Hi everyone, I’m new to this thread I have a chimney with two flues. The chimney was built in 1950 along with the house. I recently converted to a tankless navien boiler. the old furnace flue that had a liner in it is not being used any longer. The plumber put some sealant around the opening. The issue I’m having is I just had my first fire in the fireplace since doing this now I’m getting smoke in my boiler room behind the plywood that covers the hole with the flu is connected. The plywood has a little bit of a gap and I could smell the smoke coming behind. on the roof there are two flues. One for the boiler and one for the fireplace. is it possible that the smoke From the fireplace is entering the old flue that the boiler was connected to and being that they probably didn’t seal it good enough in the basement that it’s pulling the smoke into the basement?

Reactions: Blue Ridge Lou
Yes.
Better sealing is one way, but the better way is to prevent it from getting in that flue in the first place. The way to do that is to ensure the fireplace flue terminated a foot or so higher than the unused.flue.

Your fireplace is using combustion air from inside your home. In order to replace that air, it’s drawing air down the unused flue. That air contains smoke from the fireplace flue. You need to better seal the unused flue…