Soot Buildup Question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

spitfire557

Jan 29, 2019
PA
Hello all,

I purchased a new house this year which has a wood stove as supplemental heat. I am completely new to wood burning and have learned most of my knowledge from this site. I had the chimney swept professionally before ever lighting a fire in it this fall (November 15th).

With that said, we have burned approximately 1.5 cords of wood so far this year (mixed seasoned hardwoods, unknown moisture content, but comes from a well regarded local guy) so I decided to tear the stove pipe off and see how everything looked. I was rather surprised when I discovered a generous coating of soot on all of the black pipe near the stove. This prompted me to climb on the roof and have a look down in, and was also surprised by the amount of soot.

I haven't seen any creosote, and I've cleaned all of the easily accessible single wall pipe, but I was unable to clean out any of the double wall piping. Gave the chimney sweep a call and he is off until next week. Would this amount of soot scare anyone from burning until it's addressed, or should I be okay?

Like I said, I'm completely new to this and would rather be safe than sorry. Stove is an Englander 2500 and I monitor my flue temps rather meticulously with an Auber Instruments wireless thermometer (always 350-450*).

Soot Buildup Question

Soot Buildup Question

Thanks!!

Why cant you clean the double wall pipe? It needs it for sure...you have a sooteater cleaning system? You have the drill setting there that will be needed..