storage tank

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

northmaine

Apr 19, 2009
Houlton Maine
Im brand new to the site been checking out differnt stoves for while and I think I will go with an EKO but not 100%. I see some of you guys have storage tanks. Please explain how these work and what is pressurized and unpresserized. I am a real newbie here so I will probably have lots of questions so thanks for all help.

North: Do a search and you'll find your answers. Basically, the storage tank is to allow you to run your boiler at WOT where it is most efficient, then store the excess heat till later. You build fewer fires, too, making it efficient for you as well.

I have unpressurized storage, which is simply a 4x4x8' rubber lined box that holds approx. 670 gallons of water that goes nowhere, absorbing and releasing heat. Inside the box are two heat exchangers. One heat exchanger is made of two 120' coils of copper piping, hooked in parallel to function as one. This is tied into the loop from my boiler to the heat distribution manifold (zone valves). It absorbs heat when the house isn't calling for it, and releases heat back into the system when the house calls for heat and the boiler isn't running. The other heat exchanger is a single 180' copper coil. On the way from the pump to the faucet, my domestic hot water goes through this coil and is heated sufficiently that we never run out of hot water. In fact, we have a mixing valve to mix cold water in as it exits the tank to bring it down to the desired temperature. It's a simple, though expensive system that works really well.