Stove pipe and thimble design

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Kali's Revenge

Jan 24, 2023
Southern Chiba, Japan
Greetings from Southern Chiba, Japan.

I have some questions about stove pipes and designs. I apologize if this has been addressed before.

Briefly, we have decided to get a wood stove oven to provide auxiliary heating to our underfloor system for our self-built house. Electric bills have skyrocketed and we calculate that we can recover our expense in about 3 years.

We are inclined to hire a contractor to install the stove pipe. However, as I was an architect in the States, I am familiarizing with the design requirements to make sure that the contractor is doing a good job and understand the process.

What I have read and understand is that two 90 degree angles should be the maximum for a system. However, what I do not understand is that I see systems with a 90 degree elbow on the inside of the wall (vertical to horizontal) , a 90 degree on the outside wall with a clean out cap (horizontal to vertical) usually two offset elbows to clear the roof overhang.

I know that this may not be an ideal design. However, how does this square (no pun intended) with the two 90 degree angle suggestion?

Alternatively, I have seen designs, mostly from the U.K. that shows a 45 degree thimble to the outside and then a 135 degree clean out joint running upwards to the roof. This design would be more ideal as it stays within the two 90 degree turns.

Searching the Internet, I have yet to see a 45 degree thimble. Is this a custom design?