Stove Thermometer

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

morganp107

Oct 30, 2018
Peru, NY
Hi All,

I am wanting to purchase a thermometer for my set up, and I am curious if it is best to have one placed on the stove pipe just above my stove collar, or on the face of the stove itself, or possibly both? Would the ideal temperature range differ from a thermometer placed on the face of the stove vs placed on the stove pipe? I have a 6in single wall stove pipe running up to the chimney connection. If anyone has recommendations on particular thermometers, feel free to share.

Im no expert, but mine is an Imperial brand. Got it at rural king for like 25 bucks. I trust it pretty good. Im not sure about stove top use tho? Maybe someone will answer that.

Hi All,

I am wanting to purchase a thermometer for my set up, and I am curious if it is best to have one placed on the stove pipe just above my stove collar, or on the face of the stove itself, or possibly both? Would the ideal temperature range differ from a thermometer placed on the face of the stove vs placed on the stove pipe? I have a 6in single wall stove pipe running up to the chimney connection. If anyone has recommendations on particular thermometers, feel free to share.
Wood burning stoves are like owning a boat, and you know what boat stands for.
Bust
Out
Another
Thousand.

:)

Joking ...somewhat..