Switching from pellet stove to LP. Mendota or HeatnGlo?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

fixingcars

Apr 1, 2020
Wilmington, MA
Good afternoon all. I have been using a Regency GCI60 for the last 5 years burning approximately 5 tons of pellets per year. Pellet stove is rated at 55,000 BTUs. It now needs an igniter and a few other pieces inside. I am considering switching over to a LP insert. I'm tired of the weekly cleanings and lugging pellets. I am looking at a HeatnGlo Escape i35 (40,000 BTUs) and a Mendota FV44i (38,000 BTUs). Can anyone speak to which will give the most heat and be the least trouble free? The Mendota dealer says that the Mendota will throw more heat than the HeatnGlo. I have seen the HeatnGlo in person and it seemed pretty nice. Going to head out to a local dealer to look at the Mendota tomorrow. The HeatnGlo will definitely fit, the Mendota is going to be awfully tight getting it in. I would be having the units installed. I know we will be giving up some heat switching from pellets and that does have us nervous since we run the heck out of our pellet stove now. Anyone have any opinions? Are these both going to be so close to each other that it doesn't matter which one I choose?

Thanks for any help and insight you can provide.

Don't worry so much about input BTUs, but rather about the output! If they give efficiency percentages, you can figure it out. I would guess the Mendota would be a lot more efficient. You will definitely have less problems with the Mendota.