Tarm Solo plus 60 high temp setting

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

jw4984

Jan 10, 2019
Rhode Island
Hello, I moved into a house with a Solo Plus 60. Last year I fired it up for the first time. I had some success and some issues. I am a total noob so it was learning on the fly. And I am in RI where these units are not common.

Anyway, I just fired it up for the season. At times my oil burner kicks on even though the solo is at what I consider operating temp, 185-190 F. I don’t think this is supposed to happen (correct me if I’m wrong).

So my question is, what is the proper high temp setting? Right now my fan shuts off at about 186 F and then the temp creeps up to about 190 F. This seems perfect from reading the Manual which states optimal high temp to be at 185-190F. Would increasing the temp a bit help to avoid having my oil burner kick on?

FYI My system does not have turbulators nor do I have a thermal storage tank. Just a hydronic air system with an 80 gal indirect fired hot water tank. There is a dumb zone into my garage if the solo overheats.

Thanks in advance.