The saga of the backwards installed Selkirk flue pipe.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Weir Fan

Feb 8, 2014
New England
Hello,

I'm a newbie here. I have an old Glenwood cookstove (avatar) that I've owned for over 25 years but have never used. I completed a major house renovation including a kitchen make-over so I could.

It turns out that the chimney mason installed a length of Selkirk pipe backwards. He figured that it would be OK to ram 6" single wall pipe into the Selkirk section which is surrounded by the usual thimble. As such, the male end of the Selkirk pipe is facing the room, not the female end.

I spoke with someone at Selkirk and they don't have any female-female type adapters. I have installed a 6" section of Selkirk pipe to get it through my tile heat shield and need to transition to 6" single wall pipe to attach to the back of the Glenwood. While I could hammer in a male-male 6" fluted pipe into the Selkirk, I would much prefer something a bit neater that would also hide the male coupling ring. A female-female Selkirk connector or a female Selkirk end-to-male fluted single wall pipe adapter would be just the ticket. The usual adapter is Selkirk male end and male fluted end as shown below.

I would really appreciate some suggestions.

Thanks!

- Neil

Attachments

• 33.JPG
    33.JPG
    198.6 KB · Views: 342
  • 32.JPG
    32.JPG
    179.5 KB · Views: 288
  • 31.JPG
    31.JPG
    204.5 KB · Views: 290