To open or not to open: which makes for more heat?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

1869_Caboose

Hearth Supporter
Dec 31, 2010
New Jersey
Hello out there, this is my first post but I've been burning for about 3 years. My question is--while burning my pot belly, would I get more heat from it if the door is open or closed? That might seem like a silly question but here is my dilemma...yes the fire feels hotter when the door is open but that also means its consuming more oxygen compared to ithe door being closed...which means it'll burn through faster. On the other hand if the door is shut, that means a slower burn because of less oxygen to combust and it also means the door will heat up and radiate heat....so to recap, which gives off more heat, keeping the door open or closed? Thanks to all who reply.

1869_Caboose said:
Hello out there, this is my first post but I've been burning for about 3 years. My question is--while burning my pot belly, would I get more heat from it if the door is open or closed? That might seem like a silly question but here is my dilemma...yes the fire feels hotter when the door is open but that also means its consuming more oxygen compared to ithe door being closed...which means it'll burn through faster. On the other hand if the door is shut, that means a slower burn because of less oxygen to combust and it also means the door will heat up and radiate heat....so to recap, which gives off more heat, keeping the door open or closed? Thanks to all who reply.