top venting baby

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

aqua

Mar 27, 2013
california
Hi, I have a nice newer gen Baby with a rear vent. I want to top vent it (and I have the tools). My reasons are to move the stove deeper into my hearth space,and to get rid of one 90 elbow as my flue exits through the wall. I can find almost no info on this site that gives a good reason why this mod shouldnt be done. Ive been using this stove for 30 years to overheat my 400sq ft cabin. Before I strain my back and cut a hole in a beautiful stove can someone tell me why I shouldnt? I am not concerned with slightly lower temps or resale value as this stove will be honoring its lifetime warranty with me. thanks

In my opinion if it is what you want, do it. If you have had it 30 years who cares. I used to do it all the time for people when i had my shop going. The hard part and I never worried about it was taking the pipe out with out damaging it. I always put a new one in.
As far as your lifetime warrenty, well there is no one left to warrenty your stove. So do not let that stop you.

I guess what I was asking was if changing to a top vent would create some very negative characteristic that my otherwise very well behaved rear vent doesnt have. I have seen a baby with a side vent but never a top and I dont know if it was an option from Fisher. I have a jotul 602 that came with factory openings rear and top and works well either way. Just thought I would ask all you fisher experts before I cut. I jest when I say warranty....I am planning to take it with me when I "go".