Total noob here, probably a stupid question - long

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

firegurl71

Hearth Supporter
Jan 27, 2009
Bucks County, PA
We live in a single-glazed, poorly insulated rented house. It's about 50 years old. When we first looked at the place, the landlord said that we wouldn't be able to use the fireplace because it's "broken". When the house was built, the footings for the chimney weren't deep enough, and in the past 50 years, the chimney has started to pull away from the house. It hasn't moved much, but if you stuck your head in the fireplace, you could see a little daylight (this has since been insulated and sealed to help prevent heat loss).

The landlords aren't willing to get the chimney fixed or rebuilt (don't blame them, it's expensive from what I hear), and we can't afford to fix it ourselves.

Our oil contract is for $4.29/gallon, and while we've insulated the windows with plastic film and warm curtains, the floors are very cold (there's no insulation between the basement and first floor). We'd like to not have to use as much oil (or electricity for small heaters), so we're going to ask if we can put a wood stove in the fireplace. Before we do, I'd like to be armed with good information in order to answer any questions our landlord may have.

My parents have offered us the small Jotul that's been sitting in their garage since they got a larger wood stove a few years ago. It's similar to the 602, but doesn't have glass on the door.