Underslab Insulation? How Much is too much. too little??

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mtnxtreme

Jan 22, 2007
How much underslab insulation should I put in my new basement floor radiant heat system. Is 2" overkill, 1-1/2, or 1" sufficient, the basement isbelow frost, I don't think we are really tryingto stop cold coming up, more lossing heat down, so do we need a lot. Was considering "The Barrier" insulating tarp, but my research shows it to be a scam. I can't find anything good abt. it unless it's coming from a vendor or mfg.

Where do you live? I'm a builder in northern VT and we generally use 2" blue Dow below all radiant slabs. It's also important to install at least 1" between the slab and the foundation wall, or you'll lose heat into the wall.

Don't bother with any of those tarp type systems.

Reggie

mtnxtreme said:
How much underslab insulation should I put in my new basement floor radiant heat system. Is 2" overkill, 1-1/2, or 1" sufficient, the basement isbelow frost, I don't think we are really tryingto stop cold coming up, more lossing heat down, so do we need a lot. Was considering "The Barrier" insulating tarp, but my research shows it to be a scam. I can't find anything good abt. it unless it's coming from a vendor or mfg.

I don't know your climate, but I think 2" is a minimum. I'd consider 4" if it were mine, especially near the edges. Make sure that you get a thermal break around the edges of the slab as well.

2 is my vote also. Consider Crete Heat. it is a foam, vapor barrier and tube holding product all in one.