Understanding Regency Design

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

stfd26

Hearth Supporter
Feb 17, 2009
Ohio
I am a newbie to burning in a fireplace insert. I've burned in a regular fireplace for years but just bought a Regency i3100L. I learned quickly that I didn't know what I was doing. Fortunately I found this site. I read many of the articles and learned a lot. These articles answered my original questions but also formed many new ones. I'm still reading but wanted to start a topic to try to get answers to some specific questions.

I have read the owners manual several times and searched the net for more detail. I am an engineer and have a compulsion to understand exactly how things work. I've found if I understand the design I can solve any problem.

My insert is in an existing brick basement fireplace in my ranch house built in 1966. The basement is finished. I have a 6" flexible liner inside a 9" clay tile chimney. The liner goes from the insert all the way to the roof. There are two slight bends before it exits at the peak of the roof.

After initially having good luck I started having problems keeping the fire going and smoke coming out when I opened the door. After reading several articles I decided to start from scratch. I removed all the firebrick and cleaned out the firebox. It's probably a good thing I did since there was a large buildup of creosote. I now know this is from incorrect burning practices. I also found that some of the fire brick was installed incorrectly by the installer.