VC Encore NC burning wood quickly?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bpeikes

Jan 11, 2007
I'm new to wood stoves and just got a VC Encore NC. Lights fairly easily but seems to run through wood fairly quickly even with the damper closed. Also, it seems like a lot of the heat is going up the chimney. I'm not sure what temp it's getting to, what would you all recommend as a thermometer to check the stove temp?

I've got a 8 inch square flue made of flue tiles, but the hole is 6 inch. I've got the 6 inch adapter, with about 3 feet of single walled pipe going from the stove into the chimney. The stove is on the first floor of a three story house, so the flue is about 30 feet long with only about the last three feet of chimney being exposed to the outside, the rest of the chimney is against the common wall to another house.

After I've got my bed of coals, how much wood would people recommend putting in? I put in about 3 or 4 birch logs. I don't think that there is much water content as I don't hear any hissing at all. How long should I expect to be able to run the stove on a full load?

I don't have a chimney cap yet, which I'm guessing will help quite a bit. I've looked at a couple. Does anyone have recommendations on one? It gets pretty windy here, and I've looked at some of the downdraft proof caps, but they might be overkill.

The Birch is going to burn up pretty quick, if you can get some Oak that will last much longer.

EDIT
I didnt realize Birch was that good of a firewood
:red:
http://www.chimneysweeponline.com/howood.htm