vent in flue

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dennisswaim

Hearth Supporter
Feb 13, 2009
west virginia
has anybody ever vent their pellet directly into a flew instead of through the wall. i am not real pleased with the sparks coming out on the ground next to the house

go directly into my old wood stove chimney. do i have to run pipe all the way up the chimney or just in through the thimble in the wall. i assume i would have to have some sort of cleanout inside.

I am not an expert on this but my assumption is that you will have to run pipe all the way up. I replaced our wood stove with a pellet stove. The wood stove had a very thick metal pipe that ran up the chimney and I wanted to use that but my brother in law, who is an HVAC tech, told me I had to use the stainless steel pipe even though it was a lot thinner than my old wood stove pipe. I think it may have something to do with corrosion.

OU812 said:
I am not an expert on this but my assumption is that you will have to run pipe all the way up. I replaced our wood stove with a pellet stove. The wood stove had a very thick metal pipe that ran up the chimney and I wanted to use that but my brother in law, who is an HVAC tech, told me I had to use the stainless steel pipe even though it was a lot thinner than my old wood stove pipe. I think it may have something to do with corrosion.

Really its recommented to use 4" pipe because of the exhaust blower on the stove. The blower would have a hard time pushing the exhaust up a larger dia. pipe. You would run the risk of killing the blower on the stove.