Vermont Castings Encore 2550 Combustion Hood & More ?'s w/ Pics

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

KatieKat1690

Feb 19, 2015
Northern NJ
Hello everyone, I'm a complete newbie here so sorry if anything is wrong with this post. My family and I recently (Last January 2014) rented a house that has the vermont castings stove encore 2550 model already installed. I have no idea how long the stove has been here or when it was installed. I know the landlord was pretty good with cleaning everything out but I don't know about the previous tenants.

Last season when we used it, we had no problems and we cleaned it out in the summer months before this burning season. This winter though we have had a bunch of problems. First we had a clog in the chimney area that had to be cleaned out again mid winter and now we are having problems with the combustion throat hood that continuously falls off.

I do have some questions and provided pictures so if anybody can help out that would be great! Thank you!

1.) The combustion throat hood seems to be warped so I know we will need to replace it but I just want to be sure if that is the only problem.

Our current throat hood
IMG_4634.JPG IMG_4631_2.JPG IMG_4632_2.JPG IMG_4635_2.JPG
There is a throat hood available here on eBay but my question is, is it reliable or ok to buy parts from eBay? We did call a local VC retailer but they said it would take them 2-6 weeks to get the part and that we we're better off probably trying to find it somewhere else.
2.) Does anyone have any good sites to buy parts off?