Vigilant Wood Stove 80's? Need Info

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

swatcommander

Apr 1, 2015
Indianapolis
First of all hello and I am new to this site.

I have been burning wood in our open fire place for the last three years. We will be moving into our new house soon and it doesn't have a fireplace. My wife and I love wood heat, nothing like it. I know open fireplaces aren't efficient but our gas bill fell off to hardly anything. My attention has turn to wood burning stoves and yesterday I picked up a Vermont Castings Vigilant. The stove has 1977 inscribed on it and glass doors. I traded a fellow on Craig-list some old power tools that I no longer used for the stove. The stove is in good shape aside of the surface rust. My plan was to get a stove now so that I will have all summer to restore it.

I have looked on the net but unable to find info such as, how high my chimney should be, what is a safe operating temp,what size flu, and the correct pipe size. I plan to use triple wall pipe. any and all helpful info anyone can provide on this stove would be helpful. I plan to post pics of the stove before my restoration work.

Last edited by a moderator: