Water damage behind house siding

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

twd000

Feeling the Heat
Aug 28, 2015
Southern New Hampshire
The inspector noticed this when I bought the house, but I haven't addressed it yet. The lower roof over my kitchen butts up as against the siding from the main part of the house. Water is running down that edge and damaging the siding. Is there supposed to be a piece of flashing along that corner, or some other way to divert water onto the shingles and away from the siding ? 7febb47f79615865d552689e888bf54f.jpg

I'm not an expert, but in my opinion there should be flashing under the siding and caulk along the outside of the siding against the shingles

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

It should look more like the photo below with the flashing exposed and a space between the siding and shingles. This photo is actually meant to illustrate a "kick-out" at the bottom that prevents damage to siding below.

BLOG%2Bpics%2B110.jpg

Reactions: vinny11950
Well, chit. I think the prior owner had the place re-roofed about ten years ago. Hard to believe the roofers skipped this step.

This isn't something I can retrofit without pulling off shingles, is it?

The metal flashing is supposed to go under the siding as well unfortunately. And the siding should have an inch space at least to the roof.

Sent from my LG-H812 using Tapatalk