What do I need...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Matt B

Feb 23, 2021
Tucson, AZ
mattbruner.com
...to quickly heat a cabin.

Please excuse me. I am a total newbie, and this is my first inquiry into a world I know nothing about.

We have a small Forest Service cabin at around 8000 feet elevation. During the winter, it can be near or below freezing inside when we arrive. How can I heat the inside up quickly? We have a conventional fireplace, with a passive room warming system, basically channels through the masonry.

The fireplace takes a LONG time to heat up the room (no surprise). The electric heaters take half a day to warm the inside up enough to take jackets off.

What should I consider? Wood stove insert in the fireplace? Separate wood stove? Pellet stove? I don't want to add propane.

Thanks!

Is power a certainty? Does the noise of a small furnace ok? If no, then a pellet stove probably is not a good solution. If yes, then a pellet stove can be quite convenient.

Do you have a picture of the fireplace and some dimensions? Is fully seasoned wood at the cabin easy to come by and maintain?

Is power a certainty? Does the noise of a small furnace ok? If no, then a pellet stove probably is not a good solution. If yes, then a pellet stove can be quite convenient.

Do you have a picture of the fireplace and some dimensions? Is fully seasoned wood at the cabin easy to come by and maintain?
Power is reliable, and if it failed, we would just drive home. Noise not a problem for the initial heat up - we have been using a 30-amp shop heater that sounds like a train, though it is inadequate.