What temps should I be at?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Mooch

Jan 23, 2019
Jm
Hi guys, I have a osburn Stratford zero clearance wood burner. My question is what temps should my stove be at? Since I cant put a thermometer on the pipe. Can I put it on the door? Would the same ranges for a pipe thermometer work for the door temps? Obviously I'm a newbie, so any help is greatly appreciated

Attachments

• What temps should I be at?
    15492077226684723816505486329303.jpg
    73.4 KB · Views: 74
Can you remove the faceplate and put a thermometer at the base of the stove pipe? That's where I monitor temp on my ZC (Quad 7100).

Yes I can. Does it matter if it's that low on pipe? Or that close to the top of stove?

That's a spot where lots of ZC owners here monitor their temps. I use a magnetic thermometer and it holds there fine. I've read where others had to wire theirs on after the heat got to their magnet, so while you're at it you might as well do that too.

I just used my infrared thermometer and shot the flue collar and temp was 132° with a really hot fire going with fresh are damper closed off fully. So the collar I'm guessing is insulated. So I'm not gonna get a true temp reading from that location

I do with the right wood. One thing I've learned about these new stoves (this 7100 is my first EPA stove) is that they really need wood with MC under 20% to perform well.

You can load them up with wetter wood and they'll burn it, but you'll have to keep your air control open more which cuts down your burn time significantly, plus you end up burning more wood to keep temps up.