Will this insert come apart from the stove.(Newbie)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

riggsjr

Feb 21, 2022
Newbie here. Bought this house with this wood burner. Looking to redo this room. Was wondering if this insert will come apart and just have the wood burner without the other section.
What should be the distance between the pipe and the wall?
Thank you

IMG_2654.jpeg IMG_2656.jpeg IMG_2654.jpeg IMG_2656.jpeg

Thank you for the quick response.So is it welded or press together. For some reason I thought it was just bolted together.

Also what is the purpose of the box that the pipe going up to the chimney is attached to? I assume I can lose that?

From what I can see is the box at the back a simple air plenum? It looks like 2 bolts above the stove and then 2 tabs on each side that are bent to hold the stove into the plenum. Remove the bolts and bend tabs to separate?

That is an impressive looking stove.

Last edited:
Thank you for the quick response.So is it welded or press together. For some reason I thought it was just bolted together.
It is welded. I am not sure what the box is. I don't remember if timberline inserts have a round outlet or not

Last edited:
From what I can see is the box at the back a simple air plenum? It looks like 2 bolts above the stove and then 2 tabs on each side that are bent to hold the stove into the plenum. Remove the bolts and bend tabs to separate?

That is an impressive looking stove.
Yes works great.I assume Timberline has been out of business for a while. Is the air plenum necessary? I would like to remove the insert and just go straight up into the chimney.