Wood Stove Insert Size

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

CTwoodinsert

Mar 30, 2023
Stamford, CT
Hi Everyone,

I am new to wood stove world and looking install an insert to my fireplace. I live in New England, winters get pretty cold. I have a small ((1,553 sq ft) older cape that is two story and not insulated. The room fireplace is in first floor that is connected to chimney and fairly big and there are two openings that goes to dining room and kitchen. I am looking to install either Osburn Matrix or Osburn 3500. Both units are high efficiency Matrix outputs 75,000 BTU (79% efficiency) and 3500 outputs 110,000 BTU (77% efficiency). I am in between as 3500 has more cubic ft and glass area that will radiate heat better compared to Matrix however not sure if it is necessary.

Considering i don't have insulation and looking to use wood stove insert to heat the whole house including upstairs do you recommend I go with Matrix that outputs 75,000BTU or with Osbourn 3500 that outputs 110,000 BTU with bigger glass.

Thanks in advance for your help.

I'd go large with the 3500. It'll need fully seasoned firewood to perform well.
I have to say, insulating the house could possibly be a better investment. It will pay back year-round for the cooling season as well as the heating season.

I'd go large with the 3500. It'll need fully seasoned firewood to perform well.
I have to say, insulating the house could possibly be a better investment. It will pay back year-round for the cooling season as well as the heating season.