Wood stove recommendation

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

farmer_luke

Oct 7, 2022
Kansas
Hi there, I'm new to hearth.com and hope this isn't beating too dead of horse, but I'm looking for some advice regarding purchasing a new wood stove.

We currently have a Quadra-Fire Millenium 3100 and a Vogelzang "The Durango". We recently decided to get things up to code for safety reasons. The Vogelzang is in the basement and is rarely used. The Quadra-Fire was upstairs but we are remodelling and going to be moving the upstairs stove to a new location. There has been a crack inside the firebox at the rear for several years and we are thinking we will probably replace it while we're getting everything else up to snuff.
I'm looking at new stoves and considering lots of different options. In the past we haven't been real careful with how we burn or what we burn. The wood we have available is primarily cottonwood. I'm not sure what the moisture content is. I cut old, dead trees and limbs. The bigger pieces I split so they're maybe 15" by 8" (some are as much as 11 or 12" and barely fit in the door vertically). We use Timberlite fire starting squares (cut in half) to start the fires and don't have any problem putting just a couple of the big wood pieces in, light the square and walk away. Both stoves I typically light with the air control all the way open and leave it that way. The only rare time I might shut the air down is if it is very windy and too hot inside.
So now the questions: