Advice for using damper on wood insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

SwordWord

Dec 24, 2013
Weymouth MA
Hi all ... I'm pretty new to burning (just started in late March) and I'm not real sure yet of how to effectively use the damper on my Neo 1.6. wood insert. Perhaps someone can point me to a thread that has previously covered something like this?

I typically have it all the way open whenever I put in new wood, until it all seems to be ignited. Then I close the damper about halfway, or even further, until I'm still seeing flames (especially secondary burn).

But I wonder: if I'm trying to bring a cold house up to temperature (i.e. up to, say 70 degrees or so in the main level), should I be keeping the damper all the way open until I get there? Is the stove at it's hottest with the damper 100% open? Does an insert throw off less heat as the damper is closed? I'm not sure I can tell yet.

Again, I'm pretty new and still experimenting. But maybe I can get a kick-start with some basic info on effective damper use?

You will get the most heat from the insert by gradually closing down the air supply the way you are doing. That will promote secondary burning and will give you a hotter stove. For the longest burns, turn it down until the flames get lazy and then wait 5 or so minutes for the flame to regain strength, then turn it down again until the flames start to get lazy and billow from under the baffle.