1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Alaska Kodiak Wood Stove Manual (c 1980's)

Post in 'Classic Wood Stove Forums (prior to approx. 1993)' started by Stephen in Beacon, Jan 1, 2013.

1. Stephen in Beacon

Stephen in Beacon New Member

Hello everyone, Happy New Year. Great forum! I am completely new to wood stoves and had a question regarding a 1980's Kodiak Stove my wife and I recently purchased from a couple who switched to a pellet stove. The previous owners mentioned the stove was well maintained, as it was cleaned very well, fire bricks are in good shape, and a new paint job. We live in Beacon, NY (Hudson Valley) and our city building inspector needed to view the original manual in order to give us a permit to install in our small 980 sq. ft home. The previous owners didn't have the manual and when we contacted Alaska Stoves they no longer had old manuals due to, ironically, a fire several years back and they lost any documents dating back to this stove. I thought I would be able to use a very safe method of determining fire proofing and installation, but the city needed to see actual specs.

Is there anyone on this forum who would happen to have the manual to the stove in the provided picture...my wife and I would greatly appreciate any information you might have regarding this brand and model.

Thank you!

Stephen IMG_1350.jpg

Helpful Sponsor Ads!

2. BrotherBart

BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

Loc:
    Northern Virginia