1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Alderlea T5 Owners

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by mking7, Dec 7, 2012.

  1. mking7

    mking7 Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    136
    Loc:
    West, TX
    Could anyone measure from the front of your stove to the center of stove pipe? Trying to see how far one would stick out of my alcove type setup.

    Also, how is this stove without the blower? I don't want a cord running from my stove to the nearest plug. I'm down to this or an Oslo and trying to make up my mind. Thanks guys.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    Keep in mind, the Encore is larger than both stoves.
  3. mking7

    mking7 Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    136
    Loc:
    West, TX

    It is? Crap I thought these were comparable. So do I need to be looking at the F600 and T6?
  4. mking7

    mking7 Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    136
    Loc:
    West, TX
    Wait, do you mean physically larger or higher heat output or both?
  5. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    The Encore has a larger firebox than both stoves. In theory, it should put out more heat. How much more? Not sure. I can't say if you should look larger, I just thought you should be aware so you are not disappointed when you make your final decision.

    Did you run your Encore hard? What type of burn times did you get out of the stove? This will give you/me a better understanding regarding what you need from a new stove.
  6. mking7

    mking7 Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    136
    Loc:
    West, TX
    My encore has a leak I still can't find so it runs hot and we like it toasty. I have about 2600' of one story house. I can't load the encore full or it will get too hot. For burn times I'd say 6hrs between loads or so. I'd love to have a shot at 8 so I don't have to get up at 3am to throw a few splits on.


    Edit: I should mention. My house isn't an open concept so I'm probably looking to heat more like the equivalent of 2,000'.
  7. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    How cold does West Texas get and how drafty is the house?

    I think the T5 would work well based on BeGreen's comments of the T-series capabilities to move heat.
  8. mking7

    mking7 Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    136
    Loc:
    West, TX
    Typical mid winter temps are lows around 30, highs around 50. Usually see a short stretch of lows in the teens and highs around freezing. House is about 11 years old and pretty tight. I didn't build it but they used radiant barrier decking for the roof so I assume good insulation in the walls. The Encore does fine so I'd like something in that range or slightly bigger btu wise. My problem is that the stove has never really functioned properly so I have a hard time knowing if its the absolute right size if I could control it better.
  9. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    I would lean towards the T5 or T6 as oppose to the Oslo or the F600. I'm no expert when it comes to convection, but it seems like the T-series would work better in your ranch styled home than a radiant stove that may not move heat around as well. That how I would look at it.
  10. mking7

    mking7 Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    136
    Loc:
    West, TX

    Even without the blower?
  11. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    Everyone has their opinions when it comes to blowers. For me, if the stove is out in the open and not tucked into a fireplace, I don't see the need for a blower. Others feel differently. I believe most with the T-Series aren't using the blower on here.
  12. mking7

    mking7 Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    136
    Loc:
    West, TX
    We could have handled this via pm from the looks of it. ;)

    I guess I was reading that it was a "convective" stove and I'm not 100% clear on the implications of that to be honest. I thought it needed the fan to be most effective.
  13. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    I think the convective could possibly work out better for your layout over a radiant stove. I would shoot BeGreen a PM and get his thoughts on it. I don't think you need a blower, but I have little experience with blowers.

    The 30 has one, but I rarely use it.
  14. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    46,757
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    The T5 should handle your needs well. Whether you need a blower or not will depend on the stove location and the house floorplan. It could be that the stove works fine without a blower. We only use ours in the coldest weather. But I suspect you will need a separate fan blowing air from the colder parts of the house toward the stove room in order to achieve a more comfortably balanced temperature in the house.
  15. jetmech

    jetmech Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Loc:
    Dillsburg PA
    For what its worth, i have had a T5 for 3 yrs now in a room approx 500 sq ft and part of a long ranch style house. i have a blower on my stove but only run it if i get stove too hot. the T5 moves heat almost all the way through my house without the blower, in fact i think it moves it better with just natural convection. for me the blower is nice to have cause it cools stove fast just in case of high top temps. I very much like my stove and have had good luck with it.
    raybonz likes this.
  16. hilbiliarkiboi

    hilbiliarkiboi Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Loc:
    HotSprings NatlPark
    If you're not on a slab, consider adding a floor receptacle. You could run a remote surge/backup.
  17. raybonz

    raybonz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,205
    Loc:
    Carver, MA.
    I agree the T-5 should work for you. You can get overnight burns easily on dry hard wood and I have gotten 10 hr. burns on a full load. I run the blower when it is cold out as this makes a difference getting the heat out of the stove. The sides of the stove generally do not get above 250 degrees so it's comfortable sitting near the stove but like any other stove the front will be radiant and much hotter. So far we like out T5 alot..

    Ray
    loon likes this.
  18. mking7

    mking7 Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    136
    Loc:
    West, TX

    I am on a slab and with the setup I have I'd have string a cord in a way that would be kinda ugly. So for my purposes a blower won't be part of my setup. I could run an ecofan I guess but I really don't want to look at that cord. :)
  19. raybonz

    raybonz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,205
    Loc:
    Carver, MA.
    A good electrician could take care of that ;)

    Ray
  20. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    46,757
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    I'd get the stove without the blower. It can be added later if you find that you need it. If you get an ecofan, get the gas stove model because it will be sitting on the trivet top which is at a lower temperature than directly on the stove top.

    Again, I suspect that you will best benefit from having a remote box or table fan blowing air from the cooler parts of the house into warmer the stove area.

    http://www.hearth.com/talk/threads/warming-a-cold-room.100435/
    raybonz likes this.
  21. mking7

    mking7 Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    136
    Loc:
    West, TX
    Well I drove 50 miles today to see the T5 in person. The shop quoted me full list price. $3300+tax for the t5 classic in brown. If the Jotul dealer discounts then that may help me decide. :).
  22. raybonz

    raybonz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,205
    Loc:
    Carver, MA.
    Wow porcelain enamel adds quite a bit to the price!
  23. mking7

    mking7 Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    136
    Loc:
    West, TX
    It was about $500 extra. But they weren't discounting off of msrp.
  24. raybonz

    raybonz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,205
    Loc:
    Carver, MA.
    Yes this is a bad time to buy.. I bought this as an unused floor model for $1850.00 and it was made in 2007 but it is a black painted one.. I think I did OK but I bought it in early summer..

    Ray
  25. mking7

    mking7 Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    136
    Loc:
    West, TX
    Ya. I don't have to do it right now so maybe I'll hold off if I can't find a decent deal somewhere.

Share This Page