Alderlea T4 or T5?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Herdy

Dec 28, 2023
Massachusetts
Hello, I’m new to hearth.com and to wood stoves. I am planning on installing either an Alderlea T4 or T5 in the living room of my ranch home in Massachusetts. The room with the stove is centrally located in the house and the living room is approx 250 sq. Ft. It will be located on an interior wall with 2 wide doorways going into the kitchen that is the same sq. Footage. Off one side of the living room is the master bedroom and off the other side is a short hallway (approx. 10 feet long leading to 2 more bedrooms. Total sq footage is about 1300 sq ft. I think I want the T5 because of the larger box and ability to have longer burns, but I’m no expert on heating with wood and I worry that the T5 will be overkill for my layout. Any advice from knowledgeable wood burners will be greatly appreciated!

The challenge here is the home's floorplan. Even with the smaller T4 the heat is going to be somewhat trapped in the living room due to the doorways and hall separating the other areas. The 2 bedrooms down the hallway will be the least heated. It will take fans to improve upon this situation. Is there a basement? Is there a ceiling fan in the LR?

The challenge here is the home's floorplan. Even with the smaller T4 the heat is going to be somewhat trapped in the living room due to the doorways and hall separating the other areas. The 2 bedrooms down the hallway will be the least heated. It will take fans to improve upon this situation. Is there a basement? Is there a ceiling fan in the LR?