1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Bad control board or bad auger motor

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Greg T, Feb 16, 2013.

  1. Greg T

    Greg T New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    I have had my insert for 6 years now and has been running great until now. When I put it in prime mode, the auger does what it is suppose to do. Continuous, normal speed dropping pellets. When I start my fire and it gets up to temp, pellets drop but not how they should to keep a nice flame going. Once my room air fan kicks on, pellets fall so slow that my fire goes out. The auger us hardly moving at all. Checked for blockage and there was not one. I'm confused on if this is a auger motor or control board issue since it works fine in "prime" mode. Thanks for any suggestions

    Greg

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Phil Do's fire.

    Phil Do's fire. Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    502
    Loc:
    Hyde Park, NY
    If the auger is turning OK in prime mode than the motor should be fine. Itdoesn't sound like a control board issue. did you look at and bypass some of the other components ( vac switch, snap disks) if the stove has a photo eye this could also be the culprit. what year is the stove and serial #?
    stoveguy2esw likes this.
  3. Phil Do's fire.

    Phil Do's fire. Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    502
    Loc:
    Hyde Park, NY
    Check out the technical bulletins for the stove at this website,
    http://www.americanenergysystems.com/owners-manuals.cfm
  4. Greg T

    Greg T New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    How do you bypass a snap disc or the vac switch? Thanks
  5. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,502
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Unplug the stove and carefully connect the wires together. Make a jumper out of a short piece of wire and some spade connectors that match the connectors on the switches.

    Make a not of where the wires go on the vacuum switch if there are extra connections on it.
  6. Greg T

    Greg T New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Ok. Thank you
  7. Greg T

    Greg T New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    To bypass a snap switch, do I just unplug the connector to the switch and put the wire in both ends of the connector or does the jumper wire go somewhere else. This is my first time doing something like this and I just don't want to screw something else up. Thanks for the help.

    Greg
  8. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Greg,

    All your doing is connecting the 2 ends of the wires together. Some people use a piece of wire, some just touch them together and wrap w/ electrical tape, others use a spade connector.

    It doesn't matter which one, as long as it's insulated and the stove is unplugged while you're working on it.
  9. Phil Do's fire.

    Phil Do's fire. Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    502
    Loc:
    Hyde Park, NY
    I strongly suggest that you look at the bulletins on the website that I forwarded to you.. There is a wiring diagram at this website also:)
  10. Greg T

    Greg T New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    I will. Thanks for the link

    Greg
  11. Phil Do's fire.

    Phil Do's fire. Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    502
    Loc:
    Hyde Park, NY
    Greg,

    I took a look at the manual for your stove. Please check out page 21-23, the stove emits fault codes when there is an issue, see if there is a fault code and follow the info provided in the manual. The stove is straight forward design. Here is the link to the manual, http://www.americanenergysystems.com/Stock/LibraryFiles/CF04flexMANUALversion5rev112-1-09.pdf
  12. Greg T

    Greg T New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    I am picking up a new auger motor on Thursday. I talked to my dealer and he just about described it to the t on what it was doing. That was my first guess when all these problems started. Once again, thanks for the help and suggestions. Phildo, thanks for the links, now I have something to reference

    Greg
  13. Phil Do's fire.

    Phil Do's fire. Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    502
    Loc:
    Hyde Park, NY
    No problem,give us some feedback and let us know if the auger fixes it. It will only help the next guy:)
  14. Greg T

    Greg T New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Well, I replaced the auger motor tonight, plugged the burner back in and put it into prime mode. Auger started to cycle for about 2 minutes. Thought all was good. Then the auger stopped. I could hear the motor humming so I know it's getting power. Anything else I should check for? I do not get any error codes. Thanks for any suggestions

    Greg
  15. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Guess the dealer was wrong. Did you ever try bypassing the snap disk and the vacuum switch?

    Auger motors very rarely go bad "all of a sudden", and you even said it worked fine in prime mode, which means the motor was OK all along.
  16. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,531
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    That unit displays diagnostic codes and page 23 of the installation manual lists the codes and causes. What code is being shown. The code display is on the back side of the control panel.

    The prime phase is supposed to take about 10 minutes if not interrupted.
  17. Greg T

    Greg T New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    The code that is displayed on the control board is the one that its suppose to be in at that given time. I just don't get how it worked for a few minutes then stopped, now it won't do anything. I will try again to prime it in the morning and give an update. Thanks for the help

    Greg
  18. Phil Do's fire.

    Phil Do's fire. Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    502
    Loc:
    Hyde Park, NY
    Greg,

    Is it possible to see if the auger shaft is actually turning? The prime mode is about 10 minutes. Is there a blockage by the actual auger itself? Is it possible to disconnect the auger motor and turn the auger by hand? The snap switches don't come into play until the stove goes out of prime mode, check the vacuum hose for breakage or clogging. bypass vac switch and try again.
  19. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,531
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    And that code is?
  20. Greg T

    Greg T New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    When I first plug in stove, code 0 is displayed then it switches to code 1. When I put it into prime mode, code p is displayed. A code 9 appeared and its either the exhaust or room air snap disc if I'm reading it correctly. Now my burner will not get out of shut down mode. When I plug it in, it goes right into shut down mode. Will try to bypass the exhaust switch

    Greg
  21. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,531
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Was the stove hot or cold when it tossed the 9? Was the convection blower running?
  22. Greg T

    Greg T New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    It is cold and the exhaust fan is running. I can't get it out of shut down mode
  23. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,531
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    I'd be talking with AES about that board.

    Is that an auto ignite board or do you manually ignite it? The manual I found talks about manually lighting the stove, it doesn't discuss auto ignition.
  24. Greg T

    Greg T New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    I light I manually. You don't think it is the snap switch going bad? Once I plug it in, it goes right into shut down mode and I can't get it out of it
  25. Phil Do's fire.

    Phil Do's fire. Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    502
    Loc:
    Hyde Park, NY
    Greg,
    give me a few minutes to check the wiring diagram

Share This Page