1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Bad control board or bad auger motor

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Greg T, Feb 16, 2013.

  1. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,227
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    It could be the snap disc or not enough fuel in the pot to get things hot enough but I would expect that control board to reset if the stove was cold.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Phil Do's fire.

    Phil Do's fire. Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    486
    Loc:
    Hyde Park, NY
    Greg,

    A code 9 means the stove has switched from prime to burn cycle this is normal. two switches are normally open and 2 are normally closed. There is also a feed adjustment screw on the main board, try these steps,

    Unplug the stove for 10 minutes

    Unplug the exhaust sensor, this is a normally open switch

    plug stove back in, push and hold the on/off button for 30 seconds, this will initiate PRIME MODE

    If the stove works at this stage and code 9 appears, stove should start burn cycle.

    If stove isn't working, jumper the overtemp sensor and try again, leave exh. temp sensor disconnected.

    report back, I will leave my computer on.

    Phil
  3. Sweets

    Sweets Guest

    you got to reset stove with code and try it....
  4. Sweets

    Sweets Guest

    theres a reset button on one of those disk in back of stove,a little button.
  5. Sweets

    Sweets Guest

  6. Greg T

    Greg T New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    After disconnecting the exhaust snap disc, I was able to put the burner into prime mode. Auger did not turn on at all. Burner kicked on to start up mode and a code 1 appeared on board
  7. Greg T

    Greg T New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    I reached back to feel the auger motor and it was very warm so I know that it is getting power. Still not dropping pellets. Auger moved freely before I put new one in
  8. Sweets

    Sweets Guest

    that auger motor is no good or that augers jammed , no
  9. Greg T

    Greg T New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Thank you all for the suggestions. I put the old auger motor back on and everything seems to be working fine again. I will know for sure when I actually start it up, hopefully later this afternoon. Don't know what the problem was, maybe an auger jam, I don't know. Will give an update when I start her up. Thanks again

    Greg
  10. Sweets

    Sweets Guest

    Lemme know what problem was ,
    My Drolet stove did that , it was A motor,
    My mother inlaw has quadra fire it
    Was the lever was close for setting
    Pellet feed, curious what u find out??
  11. Greg T

    Greg T New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Just an update. I got a new exhaust snap disc and a new vacuum switch today. Installed the snap disc and thought my problems were solved. Pit the burner in pre mode and everything was good. Once the burner got up to temp and the room air fan kicked on, back to the same problem I was having before. Pellets not dropping from the auger. Shut down burner and installed new vacuum switch. Pulled off hose and cleaned and also cleaned end on exhaust fan with paper clip. Going to try again in the morning. Took new auger motor back to dealer and the conclusion was it had a bad gear box. Any other ideas on what the problem can be? Thanks for the help

    Greg
  12. Phil Do's fire.

    Phil Do's fire. Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    486
    Loc:
    Hyde Park, NY
    Greg,

    If the blower comes on and cycles off normally, you most likely have a bad over temp snap disc. A common problem on some stoves. Depending on the year of manufacture, some of the stoves had a low limit snap disc. The stove has 4 snap disks. Two of the snap disks are normal open and the other two are normal closed. If you mix one up, you will also get the condition that you are experiencing in the stove. Easy to check NO or NC switch with an ohm meter across the two terminals and operate the snap with your finger:cool:
  13. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,227
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    If the convection blower comes on and then everything goes south it is also possible that the convection blower has crud in it or in the motor case and on the cooling fan or if it is an oilable motor it has been neglected and needs oil and work in repeat a few times to recover it if possible.
  14. Phil Do's fire.

    Phil Do's fire. Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    486
    Loc:
    Hyde Park, NY
    The motor is sealed and if motor caased excess voltage draw, fuse would have blown or would set a code:)
  15. Greg T

    Greg T New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Phildo, there are only 3 snap disc's on my burner. Is it possible there is carbon build up at the top of the auger, top of the drop chute? My auger spins freely by hand
  16. Phil Do's fire.

    Phil Do's fire. Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    486
    Loc:
    Hyde Park, NY
    Greg,

    If the auger spins ok by hand with the motor disconnected from it, i doubt that is the issue. If the stove fried the new auger motor it sounds like there is a problem somewhere in the delivery of the pellets ( carbon or fines buildup) are there any new faults in the control board?
  17. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,227
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Unless the motor has a thermal protection circuit in which case no fuse will get blown and the only code that might get set is for high temperature if the controller can actually tell.

    If there is a carbon buildup at the top of the cute there would have to have been a burn back. Did you have a burn back or hooper fire?
  18. Greg T

    Greg T New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    No burn back or hopper fire. If my exhaust is plugged, it will stop dropping pellets. Would it still drop pellets in prime mode if there is an obstruction somewhere? I'm starting to get stumped on what the problem is. I'm getting no error codes on the control board. I will pull the exhaust blower and clean it maybe later today
  19. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,227
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    I was talking more about the convection fan and possible high temperature side of things.

    I'd think that that unit would do at least a couple of polls for vacuum before even dropping a priming charge but it wouldn't be the only one not to if it waits for POF before polling.

    I downloaded the manual for your stove but haven't really looked over the wiring diagram.

    It is always best to completely clean a stove when trouble shooting any failure because a dirty stove can make one think other parts are bad that aren't.
  20. Greg T

    Greg T New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    The only parts left to clean is the exhaust fan and the exhaust. Me and ladders and roofs don't get along to well lol. That will be my last resort if necessary. Thanks for the help
  21. SwineFlue

    SwineFlue Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    606
    Loc:
    NE Pa
    Try it... just open the door while it is prime mode.
    SmokeyTheBear likes this.
  22. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,227
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    There is always lying to the stove for a test via the vacuum switch circuit. I don't really like doing it as most people go off after jumping one (which may not work with all systems) assuming a new switch is needed when it likely isn't.
  23. Greg T

    Greg T New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    I put a new vac switch in last night if that helps any. I tested it before I put it in and it worked
  24. Greg T

    Greg T New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    I talked to my dealer. He suggests getting a new control board. Does this seem right given all the problems? Just looking for suggestions before I spend the $185 for the board. They also said control boards usually last about 5 years. I have had mine 6 yrs

    Greg
  25. imacman

    imacman Guest

    More important question is, if it's NOT the board (since the dealer seems to be just guessing), will he take the board back?
    SmokeyTheBear likes this.

Share This Page