Boy it's nice to burn dry wood!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebelduckman

Minister of Fire
Dec 14, 2013
Pulaski, Mississippi
The 17-vl has been struggling on 1 year seasoned oak. It's my first year burning so I don't have my supply where it needs to be. I Stumbled across some 2 year old beech and wow what a difference! I know it's a softer hardwood but this stuff throws some good heat! I can easily run in the 500° range. Can't wait until my oak gets to 20% but for now this will work!

What is the moisture content of the beech. I find that beech will be ready in 1 yr, when I cut and split it mid winter. Usually Its cut and split in the spring which would make it 1 1/2 yr dry at 12 % mc.

Boy is it ever night and day difference. You wouldn't think 5-7% mositure makes that much difference but does it ever. I am in the same boat with 1 year oak. Thankfully my wood stacks are diverse enough that I am getting by.

Reactions: Backwoods Savage
Yep, no substitute for dry wood. More heat, less time spent getting the stove cranking on a load, and less chimney maintenance. And Oak is the King of Woods....you're gonna love it. :cool:
ready in 1 yr, when I cut and split it mid winter.
I'm gonna try to get a bunch of wood stacked when this weather breaks, then hope for good drying weather this summer. Last summer wasn't all that great here. We had dry wood but I'm trying to get several family members a couple years ahead....