Build a boiler using a cut-down lp tank for the burn chamber

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

deanco66

Hearth Supporter
Nov 30, 2008
Central Indiana
I am wanting to build a wood burning boiler & was thinking of taking an lp gas tank & cutting it down in length & using it for the burn chamber. Any pros or cons on this idea? Also have read about making it pressurized, but very low pressure (5-10lbs.)
I am no novice at welding & fabbing, just tired of paying my hard earned money to the utility companies when I have an endless supply of firewood.
I'm wanting to build my own to experiment a little & just can't see paying the price they want for an OWB.
Any comments would be of great help. Thanks

Bondo said:
Us self made Engineers aren't exactly on the winning team around here...
I guess you're supposed to drop the $10,000.00 for a factory built boiler, rather than building Your Own....

I'd like to take polite exception to that thought.....

Most forum members have a pretty strong 'do it yourself' ethic, and given the current state of the art that's almost essential. There are several home-built boilers that have been discussed here, as well as a wide range of home brewed controls and instrumentation.

I've been on some automotive forums which consist mostly of rich brats boasting about the hot cars that they built. Turns out they aren't mechanics and never got their hands dirty except for a little ink stain writing the check to the tuner who actually built the car. This forum is not like that at all - virtually every system has an enormous amount of owner involvement.