Catylic combustor light off

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Pine Knot

Nov 10, 2007
Southwest Virginia
Even though I have been burning wood for many years, I have no experience with Catylic Combustor equip-ted stoves, Dutchwest "large" new this year. When lighting or reloading my stove I watch the temp gauges on the pipe and on the left side door. When they approach 500 and 450 I close the bypass and close the draft to near cutoff.That usually results in combustor light-off but not always. My question. Is there a way to tell if the combustor is working with out waiting for the combustor temp gauge to make it's slow way up the scale? Is there anything that will give a more immediate indication that it's working?

Thanks,

Pine Knot

PINE KNOT, I recently installed a new combuster in my VC Intrepid because I never had "Light off" with
my old one which was only 4 years old. But I can tell you that I can hear a slight "rumble" from my stove
when my combuster is lit. You can also see the that there is a large reduction of smoke if any, coming
from the stack outside.
I do however notice that if I let my stove dip below 500* when the cat. is lit, I will start to notice a slight amount of smoke outside again, but if I keep it above 500* there is no smoke at all, and I mean "NO SMOKE".
You do have to give the smoke about 5 min. to clear up after engaging the cat. to know for sure
it is working properly. The smoke clearing is not instant, at least not for me anyway.