Chimney install questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamess67

Feeling the Heat
Nov 19, 2007
Central Illinois
I am ready to start installing my chimney. First I need advise

I have a vaulted ceiling (12 degree slope) so Im trying to decide to either run the pipe trough the roof or out the side wall.
The stove is a small Dutchwest 1000 sq footer.

I have very limited access to install parts and the ONLY installer in the area is backed up a month or more. Plus he only installs his stuff. That means big bucks.

So, I could really use your experience and in site as how to attack this. Through the roof (preferred but much harder to find parts) or though the wall ( parts available locally fairly cheap).

If I go through the wall I plan on running the stove pipe at an angle to the wall to eliminate some of the 90 degree bends. I also realize that I have to cut my sofit and trim all that out.

Finally, will different brands of install kits and chimney pipe still lock together. I was told the two might not work together.

I prefer to go straight up through the roof, better draft, and the chimney is inside, better draft again. You can get the parts you need at Menard's, or Tractor Supply, have any around by you? Your right interchanging different manufacturers might not work.

There is a Menards , Home Depot, Lowes 40 miles away. Not a big deal.