Combustion Blower Concern

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

moyerdm

Feb 1, 2014
Pottstown, PA
Hello everyone and forgive me if I break a rule, as this is my first time on here.

I have a Vista Flame VF100 pellet stove and have been contemplating pulling the combustion blower and cleaning it myself. I have the gaskets and am ready to do the work. I had a few questions first and was hoping for feedback.

First, this winter the stove has been running at max for almost two months straight. I have already put about 3.5 tons through the stove. It seems that the pot fills up and requires scraping about every 12 hours. Does this seem about right? At times, I have burned three bags a day. I also think I had a bad batch of pellets. The fines seemed ridiculous, so i screened a bag and ended up with 4 cups from one bag!

Second, the slide damper doesn't seem to be having an effect on the flame. Also, on start-up, the flame seems lazier than I remember it being last season.

All this together is leading me to the idea of pulling and cleaning the combustion blower. Does it seem as though I am on the right track?

I appreciate all of your help!

Asking for advice here IS the rule. Not against the rule.

Welcome to the Forum.

It sounds like you have a clog somewhere. Wen was the last time you gave the stove a good deep cleaning? I'd be willing to bet that the vent pipe is clogged with ash.

What kind of pellets are you burning?