Cutting with snow or no snow

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

andyrlee

Oct 19, 2009
Northern WI
Probably a wierd question, but since I'm just getting into this my original thought was to do all my wood cutting, splitting and stacking in the fall.

I personally want to avoid spring, summer if possible cause of ticks and mosquitos.

Winter in Northern Wisconsin has over a foot of snow.

Do you guys work in Winter?

Actually cutting firewood can be easier in winter if there's not to much snow.Almost getting to late for me in the western U.P. we have about 80 inches so far.But what I do is use my heavy duty ice fishing sled to haul wood out of the woods,I cut it up in blocks put it in the sled and drag it out than split it rite there on the road! Works very good. Otter sled makes a good one. Good luck and HAPPY NEW YEAR !

I only cut wood in the winter. No bugs, no sweat, no leaves, sap is in the roots means less time to season, can wear gloves without sweating profusely. Whats not to like?

I make firewood all year long, provided there isn't so much snow in the winter that I can't get out there.

Snow over mosquitoes is a no brainer.

It's a good time to drag logs out of the woods/ no mud.

I do all my processing in March. I would rather work wearing a sweat shirt than a parka. By the end of March I have the third year out wood split and stacked . The only wood that I handle in the Winter is scrounged from storms or such. It goes into a pile for processing when the weather suits me