Damping too low

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

chris2879

Hearth Supporter
Nov 8, 2010
Western MA
I am a newbie wood burner and just trying to be on the safe side. After i reload and the wood starts to burn (couple minutes), we damper it back. The stove temps are > 425 degrees (my IR temp gauge doesn't go higher) just above the door Can you damper back too much? If so, it is just a smokey burn, inefficient burn, or is it creating creosote. Creosote is what i am worried about. I want to maximize the burn time, but also want to be safe. Is the following a bad assumption; if you are burning in the "good band" on the thermometers of 275-475 you are not creating creosote regardless of how far the damper is open or closed?

Hopefully a Summit insert owner will pipe up with what "normal" temps on the door are, but beyond that, there are a couple of things to look for. Does your glass stay clean or are you smoking it up? Is the ash a light fluffy gray color? When you damp it down - are you still getting a good clean burn (no smoke from stack)?

Yes . . . you can turn down the air too much . . . alot depends on your set up, stove, fuel, etc. With my stove once I have brought everything up to temp with good, well seasoned wood I can turn down the air all the way for a nice long, clean and efficient burn . . . but I could not do so in my first year when I was dealing with semi-seasoned wood.